All You Need to Know About the Southern Football League

Just recently, we’ve jumped on board with the historic Southern Football League and sponsored their club of the month awards to help further develop the talent in English grassroots football.

For those of you not too familiar with the league and its member clubs, we delve into its history to provide you with all the information to become the competition’s biggest fan...

Over 100 years of history...

The Southern League was founded in 1894, a time when football was a developing sport in England. Comprised into three divisions (South Premier, South East and South West), the league was formed for both professional and amateur clubs, under the initiative of Millwall Athletic (now referred to as Millwall).

Today, there are 68 teams in the league, including AFC Totton, Cambridge City and Redditch United, although as of the 2018/19 season an additional 20 teams will be incorporated into the league in what is being described as the biggest shake up in non league football in years.

You can read more details of the changes here.

With regards to where the Southern League sits in the English Football League pyramid, Premier division clubs sit in level 7, while division 1 East and South clubs sit in level 8.

To get to the Southern League from the Premier League you would have to go through:

The Championship, then League One, League Two, The National League and National League South.

As you can see to make it from Non-League to Premier League would take persistent club growth and performance over six consecutive years!

Famous faces throughout the years

Within the 124 years of Southern League’s history, there have been a number of famous players both in the past and present. Let’s take a look...

Clinton Morrison

After a glistening career with Crystal Palace, Birmingham City and Coventry City, Morrison joined the Evo-Stik NPL Mickleover Sports in 2016, after originally signing for Southern Premier Division side, Redditch United.

During his career, Morrison scored 151 goals in 513 appearances in Premier League and First Division/Championship games.

Dior Angus

The son of Terry Angus, a defender who played for Northampton Town and Fulham, Angus has had a number of appearances within the Southern League.

He joined the Southern League Premier Division side Leamington on loan during the 2011-12 pre-season, as well as playing for Banbury United, Daventry Town, Stratford Town and Redditch United.

Adam Marriott

After beginning his career in the youth academy of Norwich City, Marriott has had an impressive career at Cambridge United, before moving onto Cambridge City.

He currently plays as a forward for Royston Town. Last year, he turned down the chance to play in the Football League with Lincoln City, in favour of Royston Town in a bid to be closer to his Cambridge home.

Who currently plays in the Southern League?

Below, you can find a full list of teams for the 2017-18 season. Which team takes your fancy?

Premier East West

Banbury United

AFC Dunstable

AFC Totton

Basingstoke Town

AFC Rushden & Diamonds

Barnstaple Town

Biggleswade Town

Arlesey Town


Bishop's Stortford

Ashford Town

Bishop's Cleeve

Chesham United


Bristol Manor Farm

Dorchester Town

Aylesbury United

Cinderford Town

Dunstable Town

Barton Rovers

Cirencester Town


Beaconsfield Town

Didcot Town

Frome Town

Bedford Town

Evesham United

Gosport Borough

Cambridge City



Chalfont St. Peter

Larkhall Athletic

Hitchin Town

Egham Town

Mangotsfield United

Kettering Town

Fleet Town

North Leigh

King's Lynn Town

Hanwell Town

Paulton Rovers

Kings Langley

Hayes & Yeading United


Merthyr Town

Kempston Rovers


Redditch United


Shortwood United

Royston Town


Swindon Supermarine

Slough Town


Taunton Town

St Ives Town

Hartley Wintney

Wimborne Town

St Neots Town

Thame United

Winchester City

Stratford Town


Yate Town

Tiverton Town


For more information on the Southern League, feel free to check out the Southern League's website here.